Devonta Smith Secures Heisman Trophy to Cap off Alabama’s Historic Championship Season


In what was one of the strangest, yet memorable seasons ever for College Football, DeVonta Smith put up arguably the greatest season the College Football World has ever seen. On Jan. 5, Smith received College Football’s greatest honor, becoming the first Wide Receiver since Desmond Howard in 1991 to win the Heisman Trophy Award, given to the nation’s most outstanding player. 

The senior star put up outstanding stats of 117 receptions, 1,856 yards and 23 touchdowns over the course of 13 games and averaged 15.9 yards per reception. People might look at those numbers and think it probably doesn’t get much better than that. However, the craziest stat perhaps is in the National Championship game; where Smith had 12 receptions for 215 yards and 3 touchdowns in just the first half.

Smith, a projected top 10 pick for the 2021 NFL draft, had always been criticized. Believe it or not, he was told he couldn’t make it anywhere in life with football because of how small his body frame was. He had a message for all young players in the same situation he once was. 

“To all the young kids out there that aren’t the biggest, aren’t the strongest: just keep pushing,” Smith said in his acceptance speech at the Heisman Trophy Presentation ceremony. 

Smith is expected to declare for the NFL Draft and be a top pick along with several teammates, including defensive lineman Christian Barmore, center Landon Dickerson, running back Najee Harris, quarterback Mac Jones, left tackle Alex Leatherwood, cornerback Patrick Surtain ll, wide receiver Jaylen Waddle and many more. 

The 2020-21 Alabama Crimson Tide are going to be considered one of the top teams of the decade without a doubt, and possibly one of the top teams of all time in College Football. In a season with more setbacks than any other, it seemed as if the Tide had the best player in almost every category, and the end of season awards seemed to prove this, players from the team took home the following awards (per  

Associated Press player of the year

— Devonta Smith

Broyles Award

— Steve Sarkisan

Unitas Golden Arm

— Mac Jones

Joe Moore Award

— Alabama Offensive Line

Paul Hornung Award

— DeVonta Smith

Heisman Trophy

— DeVonta Smith

Davey O’Brien Award

— Mac Jones

Outland Trophy

— Alex Leatherwood

Biletnikoff Award

— DeVonta Smith

Rimington Award

— Landon Dickerson

Walter Camp player of the year

— DeVonta Smith

Doak Walker Award

— Najee Harris

Maxwell Award

— DeVonta Smith

All Americans:

— QB Mac Jones

— RB Najee Harris

— WR DeVonta Smith

— C Landon Dickerson

— LT Alex Leatherwood

— CB Patrick Surtain

— LB Dylan Moses

Alabama finished its season 13-0 with a 52-24 win over Ohio State in the National Championship game. They also beat the Florida Gators by a score of 52-46 in the SEC Championship game. The only downside to the Tide’s wonderful season is that a majority of their players will be leaving next year for the NFL, and they will be forced to have some new faces step into the spotlight. However with the coaching of legendary Nick Saban, who claimed his 7th national title, the most of any college football coach ever, the Crimson Tide should be in good hands no matter who’s in charge of making the big plays.